Oleo Ranch
#1 on Trip Advisor in Lake City, Free Horse Corrals and Featured in "Riding Colorado III"

Testimonials

From TripAdvisor

“One of the best simple trips I have ever done”

Oleo is just fantastic! We loved the ranch and Lake City. If you don’t mind No electricity, Cell or land line phone, or Internet you will have a fantastic time here. There is so much to do in the area, so plan your trip to take advantage of every minute. The cabins are clean and really do have everything but food. Carey, the property manager is only a few cabins away if you need anything or have questions, otherwise you never even know he is there. Believe me, you will not want to leave! The veiw was just incredible, as is the mountain air. Lake city is very simple but has some great food and limited cell coverage.

Stayed September 2016, traveled as a couple

—————————

From TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Cabins”

Wonderful Cabins! Superbly located in beautiful valley, loads of wildlife…we saw moose and deer, marmots and chipmonks, hundreds of hunningbirds, even a Bal Eagle one afternoon! Fun fishing on the ponds or hiking the stream, located within easy drives to 4 different Gold Medal Fly Fishing rivers! Creede and Lake City are perfect lil mountain towns.

Cary was Super!

Thanks for the beautiful memories,

Bill & Annie

ps: I think we’ll try mid-September next year…..

Stayed July 2016, traveled as a couple

————————–

From airbnb

“The host immediately got back to me when I had questions about our arrival. The house itself was in a beautiful location. It was very clean and provided everything necessary we needed in the kitchen. It was a wonderful weekend getaway. Didn’t have to drive anywhere once we arrived. Fishing ponds and trails right in the backyard. Wonderful stay! ”

Heidi

————————–

From TripAdvisor

“Rustic luxury”

This ranch offers great rustic cabins with luxury details – no electricity, Internet, cable, etc. there are good hot showers and propane heaters and cool gas powered light fixtures. Comfortable beds and great furnishings, propane grill, stocked firewood, etc. We stayed in the Alabama and loved it’s slightly more secluded location and incredible view. We only had two nights here but it’s amazing how refreshing it is not to even have the option to tap into technology and the craziness that is constant information in this age.
We sat on the porch, read, and did some fly fishing in the beautiful well stocked fishing ponds and couldn’t have enjoyed our time more. Cabins are very well stocked, clean and very comfortable. I highly recommend this as a great place to relax while enjoying the lake city and alpine loop area – which are well worth exploring!

Stayed September 2016, traveled with family

————————

From airbnb

“Oleo ranch was absolutely beautiful and very easy to find. Not too far from Lake City and lots to do, we very much enjoyed fishing at the ponds and we loved that the cabin had a grill for us to enjoy our lunches and dinners. Everyone we met at the ranch was very friendly, we had a slight mix up in communication but the owners quickly resolved the mix up and made it right with us, we are very grateful for that! The cabins are so cozy, the propane lighting was just perfect, and we really enjoyed having the wood stove to keep us warm. A perfect getaway to escape work/phone calls/emails etc. we even saw a family of moose! We will definitely return in the future. ”

Haley

———————–

From Email

Hello, We recently stayed at Oleo Ranch and enjoyed it very much. We wanted to thank you for sharing your property with us and for the wonderful way you have set up the ranch. We also want to thank Carey for all his help and for taking such good care of us while we were at Oleo.

Thank you again . . .

Kelly

———————–

Tripadvisor

“Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
We’ve been going to Oleo for several years and always come home talking about how much we enjoyed our stay. Beautiful cabins, great hosts and a chance to unwind. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, this is the place to visit.
Stayed July 2016, traveled with family

———————–

Tripadvisor

“Relaxing and Quiet”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Our family really enjoyed our first visit to Oleo Ranch. The cabins were beautiful and very clean, which is a priority for me. The were definitely equipped with every thing you need. Carey the care taker was very accommodating. Our BBQ was out of propane so we ran the tank down to him and with in 10 minutes he was back with a new tank for us. Saw lots of wonderful wildlife right off our porch. We like to fish at the lakes close by but you could spend a week right there are never leave.

Stayed August 2016, traveled with family

———————–

TripAdvisor

“Rocky Mountain relaxation”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Have vacationed at the ranch every summer for about a decade. The cabins are comfortable and very well maintained and the scenery is outstanding. Lots of wildlife in the area and the trout fishing is excellent in the stream and 5 trout ponds. Actually shared a pond with a male moose this year while fishing. Very convenient to Lake City and Creede for visits. Great place to relax.

Room Tip: Several cabins of various sizes

———————–

From Airbnb

A unique and private experience. This ranch is in a remote area of the Colorado mountains. If you want to get away from it all and still be comfortable, this is the place.

What Matt loved about your listing:
The remote location was nice. The cabins are closer together than I would like, but they were mostly empty while we were there so it was fine.

What Matt thought you could improve about the experience:
You don’t need to change a thing. It is a unique experience.

Accuracy feedback:
The dead pine trees were disappointing, but you can’t control that. I’m guessing the property is beautiful in the fall when the leaves change.

August 2016

————————-

From Airbnb

The cabins are a perfect break from electricity, internet, and cell service :). A perfect little digital oasis in the mountains. I spent the two mornings I was there hiking trails just out the door. Including one amazing stage coach trail used by silver miners to get to the nearby city. I somehow missed the elk and moose roaming around, but did see a ton of deer. The cabins are fantastic, comfy beds, and great fireplaces. Amazing for star gazing, or bird watching. I will definitely return 🙂

What Ben loved about your listing:
No technology!

August 2016

————————-

From Airbnb

Oleo ranch met all of our expectations. It was very clean and comfortable. We were made made to feel very welcome and the cabin was equipped with everything one should need short of groceries. About 25-30 minutes to Lake City. My only wish is that we could’ve stayed longer!

July 2016

————————-

From Airbnb

My husband and I just wanted a weekend getaway, and this cabin at Oleo Ranch was perfect! The cabin was rustic enough to be super FUN, and I absolutely loved the little propane lights! The low light in the evening was perfect to wind down to while sitting by a warm crackling fire in the fireplace. The cabin was clean, and the bedding was cozy and well kept! Our onsite manager was a wonderful and helpful man that tended to any need we had. Thank you Oleo Ranch for helping make this a relaxing and perfect weekend!

Thanks for the wonderful cabin, and the best part for us was finding a nice clean cabin with great amenities which made our stay even more comfortable. My favorite part was seeing the moose (wow!), and I loved the little propane lights and fireplace. THANKS!

————————-

From Email

I don’t want to make this long and drawn out but still let you know how sincere I am when I say your Ranch is one the best cabins and locations we have had the opportunity to experience. Cary is a great host and was there to help answer questions and concerns we had.
Thanks for sharing your Ranch with us and hopefully we’ll have a chance again.

————————-

From Airbnb

This is a great location if you want to get away from it all. We booked on short notice for three night before July 4th when most of Colorado is full. The highlight of this cabin is the great view of the nearby La Garita Wilderness. It is a near to high mountain passes so cool weather will be enjoyed during the summer. The cabin is about 1 mile off the highway and it is 20 to 30 minutes back to town with great views most of the way. The alpine loop to engineers pass and cinnamon pass is a jeep trail we drove while in the area. We did some hiking down to the creeks on the property. You will only be interrupted but natural scenes while doing this. You will pretty much have the place to yourself although the cabin we rented had a road in front of it to the back two cabins on which we sometimes experienced some traffic… we would have preferred to be there without the interruption… but with this being a short notice mostly unplanned trip we were very glad to have the isolation and freedom from civilization distractions that this place provides. All in all a great experience in a rustic cabin but with good amenities – cold from the mouth of the spring water to drink, hot water, clean bathroom, nice beds, etc. Just bring food and get the relaxation you want.

What Gregory loved about your listing:
View from cabin is great. Cold spring water. Off the main highway on a road that goes to wilderness area hiking. Cary greeted us late at night after our estimated arrival time was delayed by one to two hours and made us feel welcome from the start. Thanks for providing baking soda when one of our guests needed it for an upset stomach.

What Gregory thought you could improve about the experience:
Can trash be separated? Organic, paper, etc. The paper trash could be set aside for starting fires in the cabins. We did not generate much and this is a remote area but we still wondered if there was some opportunity to improve the waste reuse stream.

July 2016

————————-

From Tripadvisor

“Oleo”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Everything was great!!! We enjoyed the Aspens cabin, it was exactly what we needed.
The property was gorgeous and our favorite part was the lakes! We would love to come back!
Carey was very helpful getting us what we needed and answering questions!

Stayed June 2016

————————-

From Tripadvisor

“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars
Located an incredibly beautiful place between Spring Creek Pass and slumgullion Pass, Oleo Ranch is our ultimate getaway Paradise. We love going there and enjoy the peace and Tranquility of the ranch. The cabins are just like living at home except you light a match to turn the light on. For the location, activities and just the nice accommodations, there’s not a better bargain around.

Stayed June 2016

————————-

From Tripadvisor

“Quiet, peaceful family mountain retreat”
5 of 5 stars
Our family of five visited Oleo Ranch in June of 2016. We all loved the cabin, the scenery, and especially the fishing. Our young children caught plenty of trout in the five ponds and we saw mule deer, moose, marmots, and hummingbirds every day. We also enjoyed family hikes and warm fires in the fireplaces. Plenty of firewood was provided. The propane lamps were a treat although the bathroom could have used a little more light. The adults welcomed the respite from electricity, telephones, and televisions, and the kids didn’t seem to notice because they were busy running around in the aspens or catching rainbow and brown trout. We will definitely return to Oleo Ranch.

Stayed June 2016

————————-

From Airbnb

“This is a great location if you want to get away from it all. We booked on short notice for three night before July 4th when most of Colorado is full. The highlight of this cabin is the great view of the nearby La Garita Wilderness. It is a near to high mountain passes so cool weather will be enjoyed during the summer. The cabin is about 1 mile off the highway and it is 20 to 30 minutes back to town with great views most of the way. The alpine loop to engineers pass and cinnamon pass is a jeep trail we drove while in the area. We did some hiking down to the creeks on the property. You will only be interrupted but natural scenes while doing this. You will pretty much have the place to yourself although the cabin we rented had a road in front of it to the back two cabins on which we sometimes experienced some traffic… we would have preferred to be there without the interruption… but with this being a short notice mostly unplanned trip we were very glad to have the isolation and freedom from civilization distractions that this place provides. All in all a great experience in a rustic cabin but with good amenities – cold from the mouth of the spring water to drink, hot water, clean bathroom, nice beds, etc. Just bring food and get the relaxation you want.”

————————–

Hello, Doug!

I wanted to share with you how wonderful your ranch is.  My entire group
loved the cabin; we will return again next year, if I draw the area.  Cary
was absolutely wonderful and gave us some good pointers on hunting spots as
the ranchers chat on elk spotting.  We did not, harvest an elk, nor did we
see many.  My husband and I had visited the area throughout the summer and
three times in August, scouting the elk, however where we saw them they
were not.   So, he was amazing in assisting us.

Thank you again,

Drew and Stacy

————————–

From Email:

Doug,
I just wanted to pass along some praise and thanks from our recent visit to Oleo. My wife Andi and I visited the second week in June, and it was the earliest I had ever been to Oleo. It was neat to be there when everything was just getting green. Well, now for the rest of the story. We had just gotten my wife’s car out of the shop and we’re told everything was good to go to Colorado. We drove up on Sunday morning from Trinidad and dropped off our things and drove into Lake City to get fishing license and a few groceries. When we got back to the ranch and were pulling into our Alabama cabin, our power steering went out. After talking it over, we realized that we needed to arrange for a tow. Well, knowing we didn’t have cell coverage, I walked down to the ranch office to see what Cary suggested. He loaded me into his pick up and drove up the mountain to a spot where we had cell coverage. After talking to insurance folks and tow truck, we realized this was turning into a major problem. When we arrived back at the ranch, Cary invited me in and got his satellite Internet hooked up so I was able to arrange for the tow and for a rental car so we would have transportation for our 4 day stay. Next morning, on Monday, Cary took me to Alamosa to get a rental car. The rest of our stay was most enjoyable as it was my wife’s first trip to Colorado and to Oleo. None of it would have been possible without the wonderful attitude and assistance of Ranch Manager, Cary. We really liked Ronnie before he had to retire, but you all have a real WINNER in Cary. It could have been a wasted week if not for his sacrifices to help us. I will be returning to Oleo the second week of August with my 3 brothers for our third trip together and I go knowing that no matter what we run into, Cary will bust his hump to make it a great visit. Thanks, Cary, from Andi and I for making such a great visit out of what could have been a total loss. If you are reading this and thinking of a trip to Oleo, please go and enjoy the beauty of the ranch and the wonderful hospitality of the ranch staff. I promise, you won’t regret it!!!!!!!! Thanks again, Cary, for making it a trip to remember!!!!!!!

Joe

 

From Email:

I wanted contact you and let you know that our time at Oleo Ranch was the greatest. Our family had an amazing time and e have decided to return next year at the same time. Could we go ahead and book the same dates we had this year for 2016. Please let me know.

Randy Hill

 

From Facebook:

Carey wanted to say thank you so much for your hospitality at the ranch.  We just made it back to Amarillo, 94 degrees and people….We have fallen in love with the ranch, the cabin was awesome and the stream beautiful and we had a blast at the ponds.  Dave caught two rainbows we had for our last dinner there, one was 14 inches and the other 15 from the middle pond.  It was great seeing them flip out of the water in the evening and play and the stagecoach trail hike was beautiful.  Most importantly was the peace, beauty and quiet.  We hope to see you next year!! Yvonne and Dave Dykstra

 

From Email:

My son and I just returned from the ranch after the most wonderful visit. Cary is doing a wonderful job. The cabins are very clean and even better equipped than our last visit. It’s the most perfect place in the world. The worst thing is the culture shock of coming back to reality. I hate my cell phone!

We’re looking forward to our next visit. If you ever need a couple of new caretakers let me know. By the way, have you thought of offering a military discount?

We love Ole Ranch. Keep up the good work.

Carol and Matthew

 

“My friends and I had a wonderful time at the Oleo. There are not too many places were one can relax and enjoy beautiful scenery. The cabins are very impressive. The large windows and decks allow for great wildlife and mountain viewing. The rustic wood burning fireplaces are perfect for relaxing in the evenings. The hospitality from Ronnie and the Oleo staff is great. Very friendly and accommodating. We look forward to another trip to Oleo next summer.”
Scott Lehew – Flower Mound, Texas

“Wow!!! what an awesome place. Hey yall, we enjoyed the beautiful scenery, the cool cabin and the wildlife is everywhere…. I especially loved seeing the elk and mooses. I’ll be back at every chance I get. Thanks for the good time at Oleo Ranch.”
Rick – Whitney, Texas

“We go to Oleo every September. I actually convinced my wife the first time we went that we wouldn’t have hot water and were really gonna have to ruff it. I got in trouble as usual, but she couldn’t believe her eyes when she walked into the cabin. When we leave, we start counting the days till we come back next year.”
Bobby Joe & Linda Furlow – O’Donell, Texasbjfurlow@lyntegar.com

“I first went to Oleo in 1978 on a business-hunting trip. Went hunting again last year and couldn’t believe my eyes when we pulled onto the property, my how it has changed. Didn’t get my elk, but the accommodations, people, and scenery were outstanding. Can’t wait to take my family on a summer vacation.”
Willie Gossett, McAllen, Texaswillieg@earthirrigation.com

“The Oleo Ranch is one great place to spend a few days. You can do whatever you feel like doing at the time, or nothing at all. Even though it’s only about a mile off the highway, I really like being at the “end of the road” location with no traffic. The cabins are first class. We like to just sit our on the deck and watch for anything from chipmunks to moose and since you are just below the continental divide and looking down the valley, anything is possible.”
John Watson – Spring, Texaswatsonsplastics@msn.com

“To the Oleo Ranch Staff, Thanks for all you do to make our stay at the ranch an easy going, restful experience. The trail rides up Tumble Creek to the continental divide are full of fantastic views and a great way to spend a day. I think the biggest surprise of the stay was the excellent cabins you have there. I’m not sure what I expected, but a “rustic” cabin can mean several things and yours are the very best. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will be back.”
Bruce & Cathy Vaughn – Tahoka, Texasbcvaughn@poka.com

 

Reviews from Trip Advisor
“Heaven in the Rockies”
5 of 5 stars
Oleo Ranch is one of our favorite places on the planet. Truly off the grid, no electricity, no media, quiet slice of heaven on earth. We spend our days fishing, hiking and soaking up the Rocky Mountains and the evenings surrounded by family watching the FIRE channel on the fireplace. Truly a great place to disconnect for a while and enjoy life.

“Great remote location but far from town”
4 of 5 stars
Our party of 5 stayed at Oleo Ranch this past July and from the description online we didn’t know what to expect. The town name is Lake City but once we drove thru Lake City we kept driving what seemed like forever and that kind of scared us (plus the hairpin mountain roads to get there were unbelievable!). Once we finally got there, we honestly weren’t sure what we had gotten ourselves into. The managers greeted us in their own cabin, and directed us to ours. We are used to some pretty upscale destinations, but do not mind kind of rustic settings as well. The cabins were clean, functional, if spare and extremely a throw-back to living in the 50’s or early 60’s. All appliances, including lights are gas powered. You do not walk in the bathroom and flip the light switch on. One morning I took a shower by a flashlight beam, as I didn’t want to disturb my husband and have him light the gas light “wick” with a match, as it usually takes two people to do so in the dark. Saying all that, we had a FABULOUS time! We adjusted to the rustic setting, saw fabulous wildlife like moose, deer, elk. Plus the ponds are teeming with fish – we had a most memorable fish fry one night. The scenery is awesome. So remote and undisturbed from technology of any kind – you have no cell service or computer access. We drove into Creede for groceries, shopping and restaurants, and that is one COOL town. I would advise to come prepared with bags of groceries unless you want to drive an hour in one direction once you check in. Beds were comfortable and clean. Thanks Oleo Ranch for a memorable summer remote vacation!!
Room Tip: Ask for a larger cabin if you need space, as cabins are fairly small.

“Beautiful cabin”
5 of 5 stars
We came back and stayed at the Aspens cabin for our second time in four years. We love that it is so peaceful and quiet; no cell phone service, no TV, no radio stations. We had a nice mule deer buck just down from our deck, and great fishing. The gas lights aren’t all that bright and need to be lit by hand. Other than that, you wouldn’t notice the lack of electricity, as the fridge and stove are run by gas. We stayed in mid-September and the color was great, with the Aspens at peak color. We had a wood fire in our stove in the living room which worked well, although it did take a bit to figure out which direction would open the vents. The room was very clean. We only met with the caretaker at check-in and were alone the rest of the time.
Check out the wine festival in Lake City if you are here at that time too.

“PEACEFUL WEEK”
5 of 5 stars
We had the most peaceful week we have had in a long time. Everything was perfect. Scenery was beautiful! The cabin was perfect! Everything was clean and very homey! Fishing was great! Sunsets were beautiful!

“Beautiful serene setting”
5 of 5 stars
We stayed at the Oleo the last week of September. The cabins are rustic, but very clean, roomy and the kitchen is very well stocked with utensils, pots and pans, etc. for all cooking needs. The owners and on site manager are super nice people. The ranch is in a beautiful, serene setting, and fall colors were at peak the week we were there. The decks on the cabins are large and perfect for relaxing while looking at the beautiful views and abundant wildlife. Mattresses are not great, but we brought memory foam and that worked well. Cabins are spaced sufficiently apart so none are right next to each other. We have stayed there often, and it is a fantastic experience every time. We always wish we were living there instead of visiting, and never had to leave!
Room Tip: All of the cabins are nice, and the photos on the website give a very accurate picture on them.

“Great time at Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars
We had a blast relaxing in the cool and quiet surroundings of Oleo. The staff was there to if we needed it, but otherwise non intrusive. Beautiful and remote and awesome. Just what i wanted. We’ll be back!
Room Tip: No electricity or wifi. Great way to unplug

“My favorite place on earth”
5 of 5 stars
My only hesitation about writing this review is that more people may start to visit Oleo and make it harder for us to get a reservation. We’ve stayed at several places in the Rio Grande National Forest area and this continues to be our family’s favorite. The cabins are far enough apart that I can’t smell what the neighbors are cooking. I especially love that we can bring our puppies! We have two 50 lb. lab/weimaraner mix dogs who love to hike, explore and help us fish. It’s wonderful to find a dog-friendly place that can accommodate our entire family.
With no electricity, phones, TV or Wi-Fi – this is an ideal place to reconnect with your children and the outdoors. But don’t fret – full kitchen, standard/modern bathroom hot water and lights in every room are powered by propane so if you stay active outdoors all day, you don’t realize you’re without electricity.
Now for my favorite part, the surroundings…. on the property there are 4-5 stocked ponds full of easy catch rainbow, great for the beginning fisherman (child). Also small streams run through if you want to fly fish and not drive anywhere. You won’t catch huge ones in these streams, but it’s fun to mess around in. Momma Moose and baby frequent the resident horse salt licks so you see them pretty much once a day. Deer all the time. Hummingbirds galore. Hiking trails are right at the end of the property and lead up to the CDT. Beaver ponds, wildflowers and great views along Tumble Creek Trail. This may sound bad, but if you want to be away from people, this is a great place! But if you want to be around people too, just drive 30-45 mins north into Lake City for a lovely small town with shops, grocery and restaurants – then return back to heaven on earth to enjoy more of God’s awesome creation!

“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars
This was our first time at Oleo Ranch and first summer trip out West with our 7 month old daughter. Originally we wanted to camp but figured it may get to cold at night so we settled for the next best thing which is definitely Oleo Ranch.
These cabins are rustic, clean, and a great place to get away from the crowds over which can be found in Silverton and Telluride. The scenery doesn’t get much nicer. Our day trips from the cabin included a hiking/fishing day at the head waters of the Rio Grande and a hike up Red Cloud peak.
Evenings were spent fishing fly fishing the creek right in front of the cabin!
I would recommend Oleo Ranch to anyone who enjoys the outdoors and prefers to get away from the tourist crowds.

“Stunning views. Peaceful.”
5 of 5 stars
We have been going to Oleo for 9 years. We love everything about it. The cabins are clean, well furnished and very private. The hiking, cycling possibilities are endless. Evenings are glorious with moose, elk, deer and beautiful sunsets.

“Wonderful Simplicity!”
5 of 5 stars
My wife decided to change up our usual Colorado vacation this year for our family of 5 and she chose Oleo Ranch. I was skeptical at first, until we arrived! First off, the staff was great and really friendly. Second, the cabin we stayed in (Cebolla) was more than I expected. It was clean and very comfortable. Finally, the location is truly remarkable. The mountains are beautiful, the trout are biting, and the wildlife is everywhere around. We followed a hiking path into the mountains and saw some more of the beautiful features of this area. We also caught fish in the stream and in the 5 ponds on the property. It was extremely relaxing to unplug from the everyday world and watch the sunrise over the mountains or grill on the porch while watching the deer, moose, and elk, down by the stream. My kids also loved the hummingbirds and Sandman, the horse on the ranch. Time felt like it slowed down while we were there, I just wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended for a vacation with the family.

“The Plan”
5 of 5
The Plan was to take a ten day road trip from Southeastern Arizona late in September where the weather is hot about 95 degrees. We like the idea of a remote cabin in the mountains. Also, we wanted to spend a long day or two of fishing for rainbow trout. September is a good month for changing color in the leaves and maybe, just maybe, we’ll get a little snow for effect.
The Rocky Mountains are spectacular with color, and water. The rivers are awesome and spring water abundant. Life every where!! Our cabin on Oleo Ranch was nestled in an aspen grove, hence it’s name Aspens Cabin. The weather was beautiful when we arrived.
Perfect for fishing, we caught and ate three trout. They were very good. The day before we left a storm moved in and it snowed that night. It change the whole appearance of the ranch…it was beautiful!!
It was a good plan! It surpassed our expectations! Next year the plan will be to return and stay longer.

“Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5
Oleo Ranch is a wonderful place, cabins are spacious and clean, it has several large ponds for fishing, lots of wildlife including moose, deer and many other creatures. The people who manage it are very nice and always happy to answer questions or help in any way. They usually have horses available to ride and the sunrise is wonderful. We have been there twice and plan to go back again next summer.There is no phones, or electricity so you won’t be bothered by technology. However, there are propane lights and other modern conveniences, refrigerators and stoves, etc. Fully functional bathrooms in each cabin.

“Mountain top experience!”
5 of 5
Oleo Ranch is wonderful.. Nice comfortable clean cabins with great views on a private ranch. We have spent time at the ranch the last two summers and plan to make it an annual event. The propane refrigerator, gas stove, modern bathroom and propane lighting throughout the cabin in an non-electric environment provide an unique experience. You are truly off the grid. No phone, no internet no worries….The scenery at the ranch is terrific, we had a moose walk within 20 feet of our cabin. The five ponds on the ranch came alive each evening with rising trout. I know we will be back.

“Hit the Jackpot”
5 of 5 stars
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Initially the idea of no electricity was a little off putting for the teenagers, but we adapted and learned to love the place. It’s a step away from the grind. Even when the place is booked full, you’re not crowded. If you want to interact with others you can, but you can also enjoy some peace and quiet.
My family has been vacationing at Oleo since 1996. In fact, since we started going to Oleo we’ve not vacationed anywhere else as a family. Our first year, we crammed the 6 of us into Alabama. We’ve stayed in Ramboullet, Willows, Loft, and La Garita as well. Even after a multi year break while the kids got through college, we were recognized and spoken to by name when we returned (all of us!).
Ronnie, Barbara, and their family work very hard to maintain Oleo and to provide an outstanding backdrop for the experience of every guest. They’re sweet, honest folks who will stop and chat with you but wouldn’t dream of interfering with your stay. They’re as much a part of our experience at Oleo as the scenery, the fishing, and the peace. They’re always responsive if anything turns up that needs attending. They also are very helpful when you realize you’ve forgotten something.
I was at Oleo twice last summer. The first trip was with friends to celebrate my mom’s 60th birthday in her favorite place and the second time with my younger brothers, 93 year old grandfather, and some friends. Both stays were terrific. We were in La Garita for the first trip and in Loft for the second stay. Neither trip could have gone better and the newcomers are all hooked on the place.
I’ll be back in late July and, hopefully, again in September. Don’t let the lack of electricity intimidate you. You won’t miss it at all once you’re there. In fact, you’ll be grateful for the respite. Even if you’re not particularly interested in hiking & fishing, this is a spot you don’t want to miss.

“Great place for quiet, family vacation.”
5 of 5 stars
Just returned home–begrudgingly–from our second family trip to Oleo. If you are looking for simple living, peace, quiet, and perfect place to fish, hike, relax and enjoy your family, this is it. No frills, but great folks.

“Relaxing at Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars
My family comes up to Oleo Ranch every year in September. I look forward to this every year and count down the days starting in January! The cabins are just so fun. I love that there isn’t electricity (it is all gas lamps, gas stove, and fridge) and a full functioning bathroom!! Our family gets quality time because there isn’t electricity. It is awesome getting to see the wildlife that lives around there. I would recommend this place to anyone, it is so peaceful and relaxing and good for the soul!!

“Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars
We have been to Oleo Ranch for the last 4 years and we love every minute of it. The cabins are fabulous, the animals wonderous, the fishing is great, the air is cool, and the views are magnificent. It is also very handy to many fishing holes we like. Keep up the good work Oleo.This is exactly what is needed to get away from city life!

“Awesome Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited Oleo Ranch for the first time in Aug. 2011. It was probably the best cabin experience we’ve ever had. Unlike many of the area cabins, the ones at Oleo are situated far apart from each other, with at least four of them secluded among the trees. The one we stayed in, The Aspens, was a cozy two-room cabin with a deck that, while well shaded by the birch and spruce trees, provided an outstanding view of the mountains to the East. We may have spent as much time on the deck (hot cup of coffee on hand in the morning, cold beer in the evening) as we did inside the cabin itself.
The staff was very helpful. We arrived a few hours earlier than the scheduled check-in, but after a short wait, they had our cabin cleaned, stocked, and ready for us. This included all the dishes, cooking utensils, flatware, dish washing supplies, linens (to include extra blankets, if needed) and towels and such for the bathroom. The only thing we actually needed to bring on our own was the food. There is even a gas-powered grill on the deck which we used regularly. As a side note, the first time we opened the grill, one of the local critters had decided to make himself at home inside, using part of a mop head for his bedding. We told the folks that run the place about it and they took care of the issue when we were out sight-seeing. They checked daily to see that our firewood supply was fully stocked too.
The cabins are very well built, especially compared to many of the other cabins available for rent in the area. Each one is equipped with either a fire place or a wood-burning stove. The thin air can make it a little tricky to get a fire going, considering you’re at about 10,000′ altitude, but we managed to get one going every evening (adjust the damper folks; it’s not rocket science). There is also a central gas heater in the cabin, but it can get a little warm if used in conjunction with the fireplace.
This was, by far, one of our best experiences in Colorado. We’ve already reserved a cabin for the end of this summer. It’s no five-star hotel, but it was never intended to be. It’s EXACTLY what we were looking for when we wanted to escape modern-day civilization for a few days, and we did so quite comfortably.

“My kind of “roughing it””
5 of 5 stars
My husband & I spent two lovely vacations at Oleo Ranch in 2 different cabins – The Aspen and The Alabama. Our first trip we were a bit surprised by the remoteness, but we were immediately charmed by the ambiance of the facility. The lighting, heating, cooking, everything is run on propane gas, but the cabins are comfortable, clean, well accommodated and set well apart from each other for privacy. You just need to expect to be totally off the grid – no cell phone/internet/television. An excellent separation from the anxiety producing demons of life.
Both of our trips included our multiple large dogs. While the deposit was high, it was fully refunded both times after they found we had left the cabins in good order & undamaged. Unfortunately this has apparently not been the case with all of their guests and the ranch no longer allows pets.
If you are looking for luxury cabins, this is not the place. But if you are after a true get away from all of life’s stressors, you will love Oleo Ranch.
Our trips were in the fall of 2009 & 2010 but the travel dates choices do not include those years.

“Vacation at Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars
We stayed at Oleo Ranch for the first time last year in August. We were very impressed with our cabin it was equipped with everything you needed except food and clothes. The gas lights worked great at night. Ronnie was great to assist and help with our stay. It was so nice to see wild life and just have family time it was okay not have phone service or tv just good quality family time. You can always go to Lake City to have cell service if you need it. We are going back to stay with friends in June this year and can’t wait. I would encourage and recommend
Oleo Ranch for a great family vacation.
Ulmer’s
Midland Texas

“Mountain Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at Oleo in 2010 ano the are headed back this summer. My husband has been going to the Creede/Lake City area since 1969 and as a family, we have continued on.
Oleo is stunning to stay the least. The cabin we rented then and again this year is big, beautiful and inviting. Wildlife is all around and the scenery is breathtaking. The caretakers are there if you need them but won’t intrude on your trip. Clean, comfortable and I can’t say enough, BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Thank you Oleo Ranch!!!!!

“SECOND YEAR IN A ROW AND LOVED IT GOING BACK NEXT YEAR”
5 of 5 stars
My family consist of 6 adults and 4 children. We love this place. Cabin is very roomy with good fridge, stove, oven and plenty of hot water. It is rustic with a huge fireplace. Deck goes all the way around the cabin and you can sit and drink coffe on the deck and view wildlife. Propane lites are adequate. bedrooms are big enough and comfortable. It is a wonderful getaway not really roughing but enough to make you feel that you have stepped back in time. Saw lots of wildlife and caught lots of fish. Will go back as long as I am able.

“Awesome Cabins if you are not a City Critter”
5 of 5 stars
Wow, my family (I have 8 children) have been here numerous times, except it is so popular it is hard to get reservations unless made 6 months in advance. I am writing this review after reading the First Review posted, which must have been written by someone who has lived in Dallas all their life, and has no appreciation for God’s creation. Yes, no electricity and no cell service – Like I say AWESOME!! Oleo is on Cieblo Creek and on the Continential Divide. If you like nature, you will see wildlife everywhere, including Moose, and a Billion Stars in the Sky at night. You are renting a cabin, (large, roomy,rustic), you are not at resort. Neat Freaks and Country Club snobs should avoid. Excellent trout fishing, and fun times abound from Lake City to Creede and everywhere in between.

Please wait...

Join our mailing list

Join our mailing list to receive our newsletter and updates about Oleo Ranch. E-mail addresses will not be shared or sold to other entities.